Nintendo 3DS HD (Highly Desired)


Nintendo 3DS

Ooooh, so shiny...

I nearly convinced myself to buy this on day one when I saw that Japan had sold out their pre-orders.

Then I thought, “if I was still in KL, it would cost me more than a month’s rent to buy it”. That helped put things in perspective.

I can wait. I can wait. I can wait x 10.

The economics:
Buy a UK version: £230
Buy a US version: ~£156
That’s quite a substantial price difference (Europeans constantly gripe about getting shafted on region pricing)

It’s strange then, that prominent analyst Michael Pachter feels the price is too low.

I guess in the end, I have several different channels to buy the Nintendo 3DS, and I really do have other priorities for that money. At the end of the day, it’s a premium leisure product and I should base my purchasing decisions accordingly. After all, it’s not like I’m lacking in entertaiment options with my DS Lite, my Wii, my HTC Desire, and my Quad Core gaming PC.

I’ll wait till better deals go around (Nothing will ever beat buying two DS lites for RM140 each though) before deciding on my purchase.

Leave a Reply

