Shine Jesus Shine / Stand by Him medley


Watch the Shine Jesus Shine / Stand by Him medley video

Back in 2006, me and Jocelyn joined a Christian course called The School of Acts. A bible school of sorts, it’s famed for being an excellent training course for aspiring pastors and missionaries and we were certainly tremendously blessed from our 6 month experience.

Towards the end of our course, almost all the students went for a mission trip to Thailand. Over there, we split up into different groups and received certain assignments for our groups. Suprisingly, my group was chosen to give a ‘special presentation’ at a small church. Probing further, it turns out that the special presentation could be anything we desired.

Praying about it during our long bus trip, the tune to Stand By Me popped into my head. Humming it for awhile, I was suddenly struck by a thought. What if Jesus was the subject of the song? So inspired, I wrote out the lyrics in about 30 minutes and proceeded to do the vocal arrangements for an acapella rendition at the church. I decided that since one song would be too short, we would go for a two song medley, and I chose Shine Jesus Shine as the first song since the beat flows nicely into Stand By Me.

Well… we did fairly well considering we had a grand total of about 4 hours of practise on this… :p

Stand By Him
When the night is come
And the land is dark
And the moon is the only light we see
No I won’t (no, I won’t), be afraid (be afraid)
No I won’t (no, I won’t), be afraid (be afraid)
Just as long as I stand, stand by Him

Oh Jesus, Jesus,
I stand by you
Oh Jesus, I stand by you

Oh Jesus, you’re only one I trust
No I won’t (no, I won’t), be afraid (be afraid)
No I won’t (no, I won’t), be afraid (be afraid)
Just as long as I stand, stand by Him

Whenever we’re in trouble, we will stand by you
Oh Jesus, we will stand by you
Oh Jesus, you’re only one we trust
No we won’t, be afraid
No we won’t, be afraid
Just as long as we stand, stand by Him

Words inspired by Jesus
Arranged by Johnathan Sia
Music by Ben E. King, Jerry Leiber, and Mike Stoller.

Leave a Reply

