London, London (Parody of New York, New York)


LondonOriginal Song Title:
“New York, New York”

Original Performer:
Frank Sinatra

Parody Song Title:
“London, London”

Parody Written by:
Johnathan Sia

Written in 2007 in response to the large number of Malaysians who have left our shores to find fame, fortune, and a huge exchange difference in the land where football came from. Air Asia is Malaysia’s budget airline. Profitable Plots is a company that heavily advertised the purchase of UK land for investment purposes. Shebby is the nickname of Serbegeth Singh, a famous Malaysian ex-national footballer and current (much maligned) football pundit with ESPN Asia. The city of KL is famous for it’s jammed packed roads and is currently suffering from a series of floods due to heavy downpouring and a poor flood management system.

2011 edit: When I wrote this parody, I was really keen on heading over to UK to experience working and living there for a few years. It would be another 3 years before that dream came true, but came true it did for me and my missus. So, eventually, this song became prophetic 🙂  (My visa approval did take about a day to approve, which is record time – usually, it takes longer than 2 days and can take up to 9 months!)

London, London.
Start spreading the news, I’m leaving today
I’m going to be a part of it – London, London
My visa’s approved, took less than a day
And Air Asia might even have a flight- London, London
I’m gonna wake up in a city, that doesn’t stop raining (Er…)
And find I’m earning big bucks – and all in pounds too (I hope the exhange rate stays)
These KL city blues, are melting away
I’m leaving all our floods behind – in old London
If I can make it there, I could be bigger than Tony Blair
It’s up to you – London, London

London, London
I’m gonna buy some land, with profitable plots
And hopefully my returns will double, tax exempted, do the advertisement,
And I’ll say – I did it too! (Shebby eat yer heart out!)

These KL city blues, are melting away
I’m leaving all our jams behind – in old London
If I can make it there, I could be richer than Tony Blair
It’s up to you – London, London

Originally posted on Amiright in 2007

2007 (C) Johnathan Sia

5 thoughts on “London, London (Parody of New York, New York)

  1. According to straits times on Thursday the directors passports have been seized while CAD investigation going on – the directors are not allowed to leave Singapore

  2. Pingback: London London – Parody of New York New York – updated for talent competition – Johnny Blaze

Leave a Reply

