Life in the UK test 2016


A couple of months ago, I had to pass the Life in the UK test as part of my application for Indefinite Leave to Remain in the UK (which was ultimate successful, yay!).

After the test, I immediately wrote down as many questions as I could remember. I invite you, dear reader, to have a stab at answering these questions.

They were all multiple choice (but I didn’t remember the answer options – was hard enough recalling nearly the entire test!) and the phrasing is likely different but the essence of the question remains.

Life in the UK test 2016 – most of the questions that I remembered:

  1. Who was the King who united the Anglo Saxons and defeated the Vikings?
  2. Who is the patron saint of England?
  3. What country is Prince Charles the prince of?
  4. Where was the Battle of Britain fought?
  5. What is the name of long war between England and France in Middle Ages?
  6. Who was king or queen when England started colonising the Eastern part of North America?
  7. What era had the largest amount of social change and the Beatles?
  8. Name the two types of people who can be in youth court in England, Northen Ireland, and Wales
  9. True/False – Dog collard must have the owners name and address?
  10. Where are the crown jewels kept>
  11. Where is the home of the Prime Minister?
  12. What was Isaac Newton famous for?
  13. The 1689 bill of rights gave all males the right to vote. True or false
  14. In what year was the voting age 21?
  15. What is one of the responsibilities of the Home Secretary?
  16. True/False – Violence towards married or unmarried partners can be prosecuted.
  17. What type of charity is Friends of the Earth?

I know I passed that test because they said so, but I never received a list of which questions I got right and which I didn’t.

How did you fare?

2 thoughts on “Life in the UK test 2016

    • Oh those questions were ultimately easy for me because I studied but anyone would struggle to pass the test if they didn’t study though… Even if you grew up in the UK with a strong interest in the culture and history.

Leave a Reply

